W&K >
Focus area

(Inter)Mediation. Music – Mediation – Context

This focus area is dedicated to the interdisciplinary research and development of music mediation processes and activities.

The underlying definition of “mediation” is based on the broader English meaning as a (transformation) process in which music can also take on diverse forms through the addition of various analog and technical media: As a performance of sounding music, a movement, an acoustic event, a sound recording, a performance, a memory, an experience or much more. Music mediation is therefore understood not only as an institutionalized music-pedagogical endeavor in concert halls, but as an everyday process that takes place whenever people come into contact with music and actively or receptively interact with it. Thus, it can not only be described as a music-pedagogical practice with corresponding methods, media, goals and contents, but it also represents an interdisciplinary or transdisciplinary field of research that is open to different approaches and goals.

Within the scope of the focus area, a broad-based team drawing on sociology, mathematics/data science, psychology, medicine, geoinformatics, music education, composition, (systematic) musicology and music practice works to approach the field of music mediation empirically, hermeneutically and artistically.

The following scientific and artistic topics and research foci are in the foreground:

  • Statistical and geoinformatic collection and processing of data on the spatiotemporal distribution of music or musical practices in the city and province of Salzburg;
  • Music education in pedagogical institutions;
  • Mediation of contemporary music;
  • Music production, music reception, mediation in the cultural sector;
  • Musical socialization;
  • Music effects research: music – health – wellbeing, perception, understanding and experience of music in different, especially medical and pedagogical contexts.

Visit us also on Facebook.

Team

Research topics and priorities

The various scientific and artistic research projects involve empirical, hermeneutic and artistic methods. They each have a very specific reference to music mediation. While the “Salzburg Music Map” project focuses on the framework in which music and music mediation take place, “Schools@Concerts: Tuning up for the Music Experience” and “Free[...]space” are mediation projects that have been initiated and researched.

The projects “Music in Intermedial (Basic) Education” and “Music-Media Competence” focus on social factors and the competent use of new audiovisual media. “Contemporary Studies for ...” is an artistic project that aims to create new pieces suitable for teaching that can form the basis for successful music mediation in music schools.

Finally, “Art is a doctor” and “Choral singing in patients with Parkinson’s” are two projects located within the field of music impact research, in the context of which music mediation is used as a way of improving physical, psychological and social symptoms.

Current Events

Past Events

Contact

Mag. Ingeborg Schrems
Programmreferentin

Bergstraße 12, Stiege 1 / 2. Stock, 5020 Salzburg
E: ingeborg.schrems@plus.ac.at
T: +43 (0)662/8044-2380

W&K >
Programmbereich

(Inter)Mediation. Musik – Vermittlung – Kontext

Der Programmbereich widmet sich der interdisziplinären Erforschung und Entwicklung von musikvermittelnden Prozessen und Aktivitäten.

Das dabei zugrundeliegende Verständnis von Vermittlung fußt auf dem weitgefassten englischen Begriff „Mediation“ als einem (Transformations)prozess, bei dem Musik auch unter Hinzunahme verschiedener analoger und technischer Medien diverse Formen annehmen kann: als Vorstellung einer klingenden Musik, einer Bewegung, eines akustischen Ereignisses, einer Tonaufnahme, einer Aufführung, einer Erinnerung, einer Erfahrung oder anderem mehr. Musikvermittlung wird demnach nicht nur als institutionalisierte musikpädagogische Bestrebung an Konzerthäusern verstanden, sondern als ein alltäglicher Prozess, der immer dann stattfindet, wenn Menschen mit Musik in Kontakt kommen und mit ihr aktiv oder rezeptiv agieren. Sie lässt sich damit nicht nur als musikpädagogische Praxis mit entsprechenden Methoden, Medien, Zielen und Inhalten beschreiben, sondern präsentiert sich als inter- bzw. transdisziplinärer Forschungsbereich, der für unterschiedliche Herangehensweisen und Ziele offen ist.

Im Rahmen des Programmbereichs arbeitet ein breites Team mit Bezügen zu Soziologie, Mathematik/Data Science, Psychologie, Medizin, Geoinformatik, Musikpädagogik, Komposition, (systematischer) Musikwissenschaft und Musikpraxis, um sich dem Feld der Musikvermittlung empirisch, hermeneutisch und künstlerisch zu nähern.

 

Folgende wissenschaftliche und künstlerische Themenbereiche und Forschungsschwerpunkte stehen im Vordergrund:

  • Statistische und geoinformatische Erfassung und Aufbereitung von Daten zur raum-zeitlichen Verteilung von Musik bzw. musikalischen Praktiken in Stadt und Land Salzburg
  • Musikvermittlung in pädagogischen Institutionen
  • Vermittlung zeitgenössischer Musik
  • Musikproduktion, Musikrezeption, Vermittlung im Kulturbetrieb
  • Musikalische Sozialisation
  • Musikwirkungsforschung, Musik – Gesundheit – Wohlbefinden, Wahrnehmen, Verstehen und Erleben von Musik in verschiedenen, insbesondere medizinischen und pädagogischen Kontexten

Team

Forschungsthemen und -schwerpunkte

Die verschiedenen wissenschaftlichen bzw. künstlerischen Forschungsprojekte beziehen empirische, hermeneutische und künstlerische Verfahren mit ein. Sie besitzen jeweils einen sehr eigenen Bezug zur Musikvermittlung. Während im Projekt "Salzburg Music Map" der Fokus auf den Rahmen, in dem Musik und Musikvermittlung stattfindet, gerichtet ist, handelt es sich bei "Schools@Concerts: Tuning up for the Music Experience" und "Frei[…]räume" um Vermittlungsprojekte, die initiiert und beforscht werden.
Bei den Projekten "Musik in der intermedialen (Grund-)Bildung" und "Musik-Medien-Kompetenz" stehen soziale Faktoren und der kompetente Umgang mit neuen audiovisuellen Medien im Zentrum. "Contemporary Studies for …" ist ein künstlerisches Projekt, in dessen Rahmen neue, für den Unterricht geeignete Stücke entstehen sollen, die als Basis für eine gelungene Musikvermittlung im Rahmen der Arbeit an Musikschulen genutzt werden können.
Schließlich handelt es sich bei "Art is a doctor" und "Chorgesang bei Patienten/innen mit Parkinson" um zwei Projekte, die im Bereich der Musikwirkungsforschung zu verorten wären und in deren Rahmen Musikvermittlung als Möglichkeit der Verbesserung körperlicher, psychischer und sozialer Symptome eingesetzt werden soll.

Vergangene Veranstaltungen

Sweet Spot. Lounge für Elektroakustische Musik: GRAIN

Konzert
08. Okt. 2019, 19:30

Stadtgalerie Lehen

Dienstag 08 Oktober 2019

W&K-Forum: Festival Kuratieren Heute

Diskussion
11. Okt. 2019, 19:00

Theater im KunstQuartier

Freitag 11 Oktober 2019

Kontakt

Mag. Ingeborg Schrems
Programmreferentin

Bergstraße 12, Stiege 1 / 2. Stock, 5020 Salzburg
E: ingeborg.schrems@sbg.ac.at
T: +43 (0)662/8044-2380